English (United Kingdom)Russian (CIS)

MORE THAN 40 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE IN AIRBORNE GEOPHYSICAL SURVEYS

WITHIN RUSSIA AND WORLWIDE

Airborne gamma-ray spectrometer surveying

Airborne gamma-ray spectrometer surveying (AGS) studies areamean content of natural radioactive elements — uranium (radium), thorium and potassium in the near surface layer of rocks and soil. Interpretation of AGS data is based on the law of distribution of radioactive elements in earth material and ore fields. The maps of uranium, thorium and potassium content as well as their various transformations (function of contents) allow to solve the following tasks:

  • to determine the elements of geological framework of the explored acreage;
  • to search for radioactive raw materials deposits;
  • to study the quality and intensity of superimposed processes (metasomatosis) and search for hydrothermal type deposits;
  • to study prospective oil and gas bearing territories;
  • to perform environmental and engineering remote monitoring.

We use high-end digital 1024 channel spectrometers RSX-4 (RSX-5) with polistsin detectors NaJ (Tl), with total capacity of 48 litres (usual capacity is 32 litres) to perform AGS surveying. Spectrometer energy resolution through 0.662 mega-electron-volt line is not worse than 9%.

Spectral registration range of gamma rays is 0.38 — 5.0 mega-electron volts. Frequency of registration is 1 second. Stabilization of spectrometer energy scale is performed by photopeaks of the natural radioactive elements (potassium and thorium). The spectrometer registers and processes the data supplied by detectors chip by chip. Besides that, the detectors which are used possess relatively high photoefficiency, and the recording unit has high failure tolerance and self-testing capability.

Depending on the tasks at hand, helicopters (such as Mi-8, Eurocopter AS350 B3) or planes (AN-2, AN-3, AN-26, Cessna 208B and others) can be used as carriers.

Besides standard activities aimed at solving geological tasks, the company was also the central coordinating body for performing airborne gamma spectrometry surveying to estimate the level of nuclear contamination of the territories which suffered from disasters that occurred within nuclear power generation industry. Over the last years the company fulfilled the government program for radiation mapping of the territories which suffered from Chernobyl disaster, “Mayak” manufacturing group disaster in Chelyabinsk region, proving-ground trials at Novaya Zemlya and Semipalatinsk. The scope of this estimation was over 4 million square km.

The method of AGS surveying and data processing comply with IAEA, 2003 requirements. A standard processing is done through four channels:

ChannelEnergy window (MeV)
Potassium (40K)1.370 — 1.570
Uranium (214U)1.660 — 1.860
Thorium (208Th)2.410 — 2.810
Integrity channel0.400 — 2.810

Besides the standard method, an alternative processing based on calculating the area of photopeaks is used. The main advantage of the new technology is using photopeaks area calculation instead of solving Compton correction equation. In this case it is possible to almost completely get rid of space radiation influence with its inevitable “Poisson statistics” commensurable with our “useful signal” and of a set of Compton correction equations solution error (contribution of scattered radiation from any monochrome source with E0 energy to the left part of the spectrum). Moreover, in general normal cases, this method allows to calculate uranium concentration from 3 photopeaks (1.12+1.238, 1.76 and 2,20+2,119 MeV) and thorium concentration from 2 photopeaks (0.966+0.911 МэВ and 2.62 MeV), which in case of other conditions being equal, lets to significantly increase the quality of the result thanks to the increased statistical representativeness of the data.

Correction for a free radium in the atmosphere is determined through measuring area ratio of each photopeak of the main uranium emission lines (Bi-214) towards the area of a photopeak with the energy of 0.609MeV, which increases statistical representativeness of the correction that is being calculated.

The preliminary correction of the area of 0.609MeV photopeak is done by means of contributing a thorium line (Tl-208) with the energy of 0.583 MeV.

Map of uranium content: A – before the correction “for radium” was introduced, Б - after the correction “for radium” was introduced (before the procedures for internal leveling)
Map of uranium content:
A – before the correction “for radium” was introduced,
Б - after the correction “for radium” was introduced
(before the procedures for internal leveling)

As “for radium” correction value is characterized by the concentration of free radium in presurface atmosphere at the time of airborne surveying, this parameter can be used to build a corresponding map. If we take into account the super dynamic nature of this value chargeability, it makes sense to analyze only the spatial variations of the local content of radium concentration.

AGS researches can be done in combination with other methods: magnetometry, gravimetry, electric, aerosol, gas and thermal infra-red exploration.

 
Airborne gamma-ray spectrometer surveying Wednesday, 20 September 2017

English (United Kingdom)Russian (CIS)

40 лет производственной деятельности
на территории России и зарубежных стран

Аэрогамма-спектрометрическая съемка

Аэрогамма-спектрометрия (АГС) изучает усредненные по площади содержания естественных радиоактивных элементов — урана (радия), тория и калия в приповерхностном слое горных пород и почв. В основе интерпретации данных АГС лежат закономерности распределения радиоактивных элементов в горных породах и рудных полях. Карты содержаний урана, тория и калия, а также их различные трансформации (функции содержаний) позволяют решать следующие задачи:

  • определять элементы геологического строения изученной территории;
  • поиски месторождений радиоактивного сырья;
  • изучение характера и интенсивности проявления наложенных процессов (метасоматоза) и поиски месторождений гидротермального типа;
  • изучение нефте- газоперспективных территорий;
  • дистанционный экологический и инженерный мониторинг.

Для проведения АГС-съемки используются современные цифровые 1024-ти канальные спектрометры RSX-4 (RSX-5) с полисциновыми детекторами NaJ (Tl), общей емкостью до 48 л (обычно 32 л). Энергетическое разрешение спектрометра по линии 0.662 МэВ — не хуже 9%.

Диапазон регистрации спектра гамма-излучения 0.38 — 5.0 МэВ. Частота регистрации — 1 сек. Стабилизация энергетической шкалы спектрометра осуществляется по фотопикам естественных радиоактивных элементов (калию или торию). Спектрометр регистрирует и обрабатывает данные детекторов покристально. Кроме этого, используемые детекторы обладают сравнительно высокой фотоэффективностью, а блок регистрации – повышенной отказоустойчивостью и самодиагностикой.

В зависимости от решаемых задач в качестве носителя могут быть использованы вертолеты (такие как Ми-8, Eurocopter AS350 B3) или самолеты (АН-2, АН-3, АН-26, Cessna 208B и др.).

Помимо постоянных работ, направленных на решение геологических задач, предприятие являлось головной организацией по проведению аэрогамма-спектрометрической съемки для оценки радиационного загрязнения территорий, пострадавших в результате аварий на предприятиях атомной энергетики и промышленности. За прошедшие годы компанией выполнена государственная программа по радиационному картированию территорий, пострадавших в результате аварии на Чернобыльской АЭС, на ПО «Маяк» в Челябинской обл., и испытаний на полигонах Новая Земля и Семипалатинск. Объем таких исследований – более 4 млн. кв. км.

Методика выполнения съемок и обработки данных АГС соответствует рекомендациям МАГАТЭ (IAEA, 2003). Стандартная обработка выполняется по четырем энергетическим окнам:

КаналЭнергетическое окно (МэВ)
Калий (40K)1.370 — 1.570
Уран (214U)1.660 — 1.860
Торий (208Th)2.410 — 2.810
Интегральный канал0.400 — 2.810

Помимо стандартной методики, выполняется альтернативная обработка, которая основана на вычислении площадей фотопиков. Основным достоинством новой технологии является отказ от решения уравнений комптоновской коррекции и переход к вычислению площадей фотопиков. В этом случае удается практически освободиться от влияния космического излучения с его неизбежной «пуассоновской статистикой», соизмеримой с нашим «полезным сигналом» и от погрешностей решения системы уравнений комптоновской коррекции (вклад рассеянного излучения от любого монохроматического источника с энергией Е0 в левую часть спектра). Кроме этого, данная методика позволяет, в общем случае, рассчитывать концентрации урана по 3-м фотопикам (1.12+1.238, 1.76 и 2,20+2,119 МэВ), а тория – по 2-м (0.966+0.911 МэВ и 2.62 МэВ), что при прочих равных условиях позволяет существенно повысить качество результата за счет увеличения статистической представительности данных.

Поправка за свободный радон в атмосфере определяется по изменению отношения площадей каждого из фотопиков основных линий излучения урана (Bi-214) к площади фотопика с энергией 0.609МэВ, что повышает статистическую представительность вычисляемой поправки.

Предварительно площадь фотопика 0.609 МэВ корректируется за счет вклада линии тория (Tl-208) с энергией 0.583 МэВ.

Карта содержаний урана: А - до ввода поправки «за радон»,  Б - после ввода поправки «за радон» (до процедур внутренней увязки)
Карта содержаний урана:
А - до ввода поправки «за радон»,
Б - после ввода поправки «за радон» (до процедур внутренней увязки)

Поскольку величина поправки «за радон», характеризует концентрацию свободного радона в приземной атмосфере в момент съемки, данный параметр можно использовать для построения соответствующей карты. С учетом сверх динамичного характера изменчивости этой величины, имеет смысл анализировать пространственные изменения лишь локальной составляющей концентрации радона.

АГС-исследования могут проводятся в комплексе с другими методами: магнитометрией, гравиметрией, электроразведкой, аэрозольной, газовой и тепловой инфракрасной.

 
Аэрогамма-спектрометрическая съемка Сегодня понедельник, 24 июля 2017 года